The Masters: Final Round

By Erik Matuszewski and Tom Hall - 2013-04-15T08:53:22Z

Photograph by Harry How/Getty Images

Company Symbol % Change
8 of 17

Resurgent Woods

Tiger Woods was tied for the lead late in the second round when his third shot on the par-5 15th hole hit the flag stick on the fly and ricocheted back into the pond in front of the green.

It turned a potential birdie into a bogey and Woods the next day was assessed an additional two-shot penalty for taking an improper drop about two yards behind where he originally hit from.

Some argued the violation should have disqualified Woods, or that he should have withdrawn for knowingly gaining an advantage with the improper drop. Woods was saved from disqualification by a 2011 rules revision protecting players from scorecard errors caused by advances in video technology, as the violation was discovered after a television viewer alerted tournament officials and Woods wasn’t informed about it until a day later.

Masters officials said disqualification wasn’t under consideration and Woods said he made a mistake and never thought about withdrawing.

Advertisement