• Barclays, Berkshire Hathaway, Costco, LSE release earnings
  • Voters in 12 states will decide year's biggest delegate haul

U.S. employers added workers at a faster pace in February and the jobless rate held at an eight-year low of 4.9 percent, data in the coming week probably will show. Manufacturing and services reports for the world’s biggest economy also will be released.

The focus of the U.S. presidential race turns to Super Tuesday, the biggest prize so far of the 2016 primary season. More than a dozen states and territories will hold primaries or caucuses on March 1.

The Group of 20 finance ministers and central bank governors conclude their meeting in Shanghai.

Chinese Premier Li Keqiang lays out the government’s budget and gross domestic product target for the year in an address at the opening of the National People’s Congress.

Australia, Brazil and Ukraine set interest rates.

Berkshire Hathaway Inc. Chairman Warren Buffett releases his company’s annual report and his letter to investors.

Companies publishing earnings include Barclays Plc, Medtronic Plc, Hewlett Packard Enterprise Co., Costco Wholesale Corp., Continental AG, Koninklijke Ahold NV and Glencore Plc.

The 88th Academy Awards ceremony takes place in Los Angeles.

Saturday, Feb. 27

-Argentine President Mauricio Macri meets Pope Francis at the Vatican in Rome in their first official meeting. 10:30 CET (04:30 EST).

-Berkshire Hathaway Inc. Chairman Warren Buffett is set to release the company’s annual report, including financial results, and his letter to shareholders on the corporate website. Approximate time of release is 08:00 EST.

-Democrats in South Carolina vote in the state’s presidential primary.

-Policy makers such as People’s Bank of China Governor Zhou Xiaochuan, Bank of England Governor Mark Carney, German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schaeuble and U.S. Treasury Secretary Jack Lew are among Group of 20 finance ministers and central bank governors winding up their meeting in Shanghai.

-Dominican President Danilo Medina, who is eligible to run for re-election in May, delivers the annual address to a joint session of Congress on the Dominican Republic’s Independence Day. 10:00 in Santa Domingo (09:00 EST.)

-The $6.1 million Honda Classic golf tournament continues at the PGA National Resort & Spa’s Champion Course in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. Tee times and pairings here. Through Feb. 28.

Sunday, Feb. 28

-Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban gives his state-of-the-nation address. Topics may include a referendum to block a European Union plan to impose refugee quotas. Timing to be determined.

-Swiss voters go to the polls to decide on an initiative to expel foreigners convicted of crimes. Polls suggest the result will be very close. Voting ends at noon CET (06:00 EST), with the results due in the afternoon.

Brad Pitt & Ryan Gosling at premiere of ‘The Big Short’
Brad Pitt & Ryan Gosling at premiere of ‘The Big Short’
newsweek.com

-Comedian & producer Chris Rock hosts the 88th Academy Awards ceremony in Los Angeles. The nominees for Best Picture are “The Big Short," “Bridge of Spies,” “Brooklyn,” “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “The Martian,” “Room,” “Spotlight” and “The Revenant.” 17:00 local time (20:00 EST).

Monday, Feb. 29

-Former Argentine spy master Antonio Stiuso provides testimony as part of the investigation into the death of prosecutor Alberto Nisman. The ex-prosecutor was found dead in his apartment a day before he was due to present evidence of an alleged cover-up by former President Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner of Iranian involvement in the 1994 bombing of a Jewish cultural center in Buenos Aires. Timing to be determined.

-The annual ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit is held in Washington. Scheduled speakers include Al Gore, former U.S. vice president and current chairman of the Climate Reality Project. Through March 2.

-German Chancellor Angela Merkel addresses a rally of her Christian Democratic Union party as she campaigns ahead of three state elections on March 13. 18:10 CET in Volkmarsen (12:10 EST).

-Morgan Stanley hosts its annual Technology, Media and Telecommunications conference in San Francisco. Key industry trends this year include wearables and video services. Through March 3.

-The U.S. Energy Information Administration releases its Petroleum Supply Monthly report with data for December. Exact timing not yet determined: production data at about 12:00 EST, and inventories/demand at an unspecified time in the afternoon, from Washington.

-U.S. government bond auctions, Fed debt purchases. Click here for the schedule.

-U.S. initial public stock offerings. Click here for the schedule.

-ECONOMY: U.S. ISM Milwaukee manufacturing (Feb.), MNI-Chicago U.S. purchasing managers index (Feb.), U.S. pending home sales (Jan.), Dallas Fed manufacturing index (Feb.), Chile unemployment rate (Jan.), Japan industrial production (Jan.), Japan retail sales (Jan.), euro-area inflation (Feb.), U.K. mortgage approvals (Jan.), Portugal GDP (fourth quarter), Portugal retail sales (Jan.), Poland GDP (fourth quarter), Lithuania GDP (fourth quarter), Latvia GDP (fourth quarter), Serbia GDP (fourth quarter), Turkey trade balance (Jan.), South Africa trade balance (Jan.), Kenya CPI (Feb.)

-EARNINGS: NRG Energy Inc., NRG Yield Inc., Petroleos Mexicanos, California Resources Corp.

Tuesday, March 1

-The Super Tuesday primaries and caucuses are held in Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont and Virginia. Half the delegates needed to win the Republican nomination are at stake, along with about a third of those required for the Democrat nod.

-U.S. manufacturing probably contracted for a fifth straight month in February. The Institute for Supply Management will issue the figures at 10:00 in Washington.

-European Central Bank Executive Board member Sabine Lautenschlaeger gives the keynote address at the GARP 17th Annual Risk Management Convention in New York City. Starts at about 09:05.

-Spanish Socialist Party leader Pedro Sanchez addresses parliament as he seeks to win a confidence vote to form a government. 16:00 CET in Madrid (10:00 EST).

-German Chancellor Angela Merkel campaigns ahead of elections in Baden-Wuerttemberg, the biggest of three German states going to the polls on March 13. She’s likely to address Europe’s refugee crisis, which threatens her standing domestically and abroad. 18:00 CET in Freiburg (12:00 EST).

-CENTRAL BANKS: Australia rate decision.

-ECONOMY: Markit U.S. manufacturing PMI (Feb. final), U.S. construction spending (Jan.), U.S. auto sales (Feb.), Canada GDP (fourth quarter), Brazil trade balance (Feb.), China manufacturing, non-manufacturing PMI (Feb.), Caixin China manufacturing PMI (Feb.), South Korea trade (Feb.), Japan jobless (Jan.), Japan household spending (Jan.), euro-area manufacturing PMI (Feb.), euro-area unemployment (Jan.), U.K. manufacturing PMI (Feb.), Portugal industrial production (Jan.), Russia PMI (Feb.), Czech PMI (Feb.), Poland PMI (Feb.), Turkey manufacturing PMI (Feb.), South Africa manufacturing PMI (Feb.), South Africa GDP (fourth quarter).

-EARNINGS: AutoZone Inc., Medtronic Plc, Dollar Tree Inc., JD.com Inc., Barclays Plc, Glencore Plc, Luxottica Group SpA.

Wednesday, March 2

-The Banco Central do Brasil will probably keep its key interest rate unchanged at a nine-year high of 14.25 percent for a fifth straight meeting amid the country’s deepening recession. After 19:00 in Brasilia (17:00 EST).

-The Johns Hopkins University Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies holds a discussion on “The Future of the Global Economy” with Dr. Paul Achleitner, chairman of the Supervisory Board of Deutsche Bank AG. 18:00 in Washington.

-Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau speaks at the GLOBE Leadership Summit for Sustainable Business. 08:30 local time in Vancouver. (11:30 EST). Through March 4.

-Ukraine, Russia, separatists and the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe meet in Minsk, Belarus, to discuss the implementation of truce accords in eastern Ukraine. Timing to be determined.

-European Central Bank Executive Board member Benoit Coeure speaks in Frankfurt. 09:30 CET (03:30 EST).

-Spain’s parliament holds a confidence vote as Socialist Party leader Pedro Sanchez bids to form a government. Session starts at 09:00 CET in Madrid (03:00 EST).

-The U.S. Energy Information Administration releases its oil inventory report. 10:30 in Washington.

-ECONOMY: U.S. MBA mortgage applications (weekly), ADP U.S. employment (Feb.), ISM New York manufacturing (Feb.), Federal Reserve’s Beige Book, Australia GDP (fourth quarter), South Korea industrial production (Jan.), South Korea current account (Jan.), Japan monetary base (Feb.), SwissGDP (fourth quarter), Spain unemployment (Feb.), Russia weekly CPI (Feb. 29).

-EARNINGS: Brown-Forman Corp., Costco Wholesale Corp., Marfrig Global Foods SA, Kuehne & Nagel International AG, ITV Plc.

Thursday, March 3

-China’s People’s Consultative Conference, a group of hundreds of Chinese politicians, business leaders, cultural figures and academics, begins its annual, two-day meeting to help lay the groundwork for the annual gathering of the National People’s Congress, which is set to approve a new five-year plan. Timing to be determined.

-U.S. service producers probably expanded in February at close to the slowest pace in almost two years, economists project the Institute for Supply Management to report. Release is due at 10:00 in Washington.

-U.K. Business Secretary Sajid Javid and opposition Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn address the British Chambers of Commerce’s annual conference amid the debate on whether the U.K. should stay in the EU. Session starts at 09:20 in London (04:20 EST).

-German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schaeuble visits London to give three speeches expected to center on efforts to keep the U.K. in the EU. He addresses the British Chambers of Commerce at 14:00 (09:00 EST), the Official Monetary and Financial Institutions Forum at 16:00 and the London School of Economics at 17:30.

-Brazil will report on gross domestic product growth for 2015, with analysts estimating that Latin America’s largest economy probably shrank by 3.7 percent -- the most since 1990 -- amid government austerity measures and plunging domestic demand. 09:00 in Rio de Janeiro (07:00 EST).

-The Geneva International Motor Show, one of the industry’s biggest events, opens to the public and runs through March 13. Click here for further information.

-Ukrainian, French, German and Russian foreign ministers meet in Paris to discuss the Ukrainian military conflict. They will focus on security issues and local elections in rebel-held territories. Agenda and timing to be determined.

-Mexican central bank Governor Agustin Carstens will present the bank’s latest forecasts for inflation and growth. 12:30 in Mexico City (13:30 EST).

-Blythe Masters, chief executive officer of Digital Asset Holdings LLC, will be a keynote speaker at the Chamber of Digital Commerce’s Blockchain Summit, held at Georgetown University in Washington. 13:00 EST.

-Republicans hold a presidential debate in Detroit, hosted by Fox News. 21:00 EST.

-The U.S. Energy Information Administration releases its weekly natural gas inventory report. 10:30 in Washington.

-The United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization publishes its food-price index and cereal supply and demand data. 09:00 in London (04:00 EST).

-Bank of Japan Deputy Governor Hiroshi Nakaso speaks in Okinawa and gives a press conference. 10:30 local time (03/02 20:30 EST).

-CENTRAL BANKS: Ukraine rate decision.

-ECONOMY: U.S. jobless claims (weekly), U.S. Bloomberg consumer comfort (weekly), Challenger U.S. job-cut announcements (Feb.), U.S. productivity and labor costs (fourth quarter), Markit U.S. services PMI (Feb. final), U.S. factory orders (Jan.), Caixin China services PMI (Feb.), Hong Kong retail sales (Feb.), South Korea CPI (Feb.), euro-area services PMI (Feb.), U.K. services PMI (Feb.), U.K. Halifax house prices (Feb.), Turkey CPI (Feb.), Egypt PMI (Feb.)

-EARNINGS: H&R Block Inc., Broadcom Ltd., Kroger Co., Hewlett Packard Enterprise Co., Canadian Natural Resources Ltd., YPF SA, Adidas AG, Continental AG, Koninklijke Ahold NV.

Friday, March 4

-U.S. employers probably accelerated hiring in February, while the jobless rate held at an eight-year low of 4.9 percent, economists project the Labor Department to report. Hourly pay is forecast to rise at a slower pace after climbing in January by the most in a year. 08:30 in Washington.

-U.S. Secretary of Energy Ernest Moniz will address the MIT Energy Conference. In Cambridge, Massachusetts, through March 5.

-China’s Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs Fu Ying conducts a briefing in Beijing to preview the annual session of the National People’s Congress, which convenes Saturday.

-The Swiss National Bank publishes its annual report. 13:30 CET in Zurich (07:30 EST).

-The U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission issues its weekly report on futures and options positions for oil. 15:30 in Washington.

-The Baker Hughes U.S. oil-and-gas rig count is released. 12:00 local time in Houston. (13:00 EST).

-ECONOMY: U.S. trade balance (Jan.), Canada trade balance (Jan.), Brazil industrial production (Jan.), Italy GDP (fourth quarter), Czech GDP (fourth quarter), Russia CPI (Feb.), Croatia GDP (fourth quarter).

-EARNINGS: Staples Inc., Embraer SA, London Stock Exchange Group Plc.

-SOVEREIGN RATING UPDATES: Belgium (DBRS & Moody’s), Hungary (Moody’s), Lebanon (S&P), Namibia (Fitch), Netherlands (Moody’s), Portugal (Fitch), Qatar (S&P), Republic of Congo (Fitch), Sweden (S&P), Tunisia (Fitch).

Saturday, March 5

-Chinese Premier Li Keqiang will lay out the government budget and official GDP target for the year at the opening of the National People’s Congress. Li will also outline the five-year development plan. The annual plenary session begins at 09:00 in Beijing (03/04 20:00 EST) and runs through March 16.

-U.S. presidential nominating contests continue as Kansas, Kentucky and Maine hold caucuses and Nebraska and Louisiana hold primaries.

-ECONOMY: Colombia inflation (Feb.).

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE