U.S. Retail Sales, Japan GDP, World Cup: Week Ahead June 7-14

Retail sales in the U.S. probably picked up in May as more people bought cars and took to shopping malls, data in the coming week may show.

Consumer sentiment in the world’s biggest economy probably climbed, showing Americans are growing more upbeat about the economy.

Japan will release gross domestic product figures for the first quarter. The initial reading was for annualized growth of 5.9 percent.

European leaders including Chancellor Angela Merkel and U.K. Prime Minister David Cameron will meet in Sweden to discuss how to make the continent more competitive.

The new presidents of Ukraine and Egypt will be sworn in.

Soccer’s World Cup and the U.S. Open golf tournament begin. The French Open tennis finals take place in Paris.

SATURDAY, JUNE 7

-Petro Poroshenko will be inaugurated as president of Ukraine, in an event attended by foreign dignitaries including U.S. Vice President Joe Biden. Group of Seven leaders are sparing Russia further sanctions in favor of diplomatic efforts to resolve Ukraine’s crisis. 10:00 local time (03:00 EDT).

-Bank of Japan Governor Haruhiko Kuroda speaks at the International Economic Association 2014 World Congress. 17:45 in Amman, Jordan (10:45 EDT).

-Horse Racing. California Chrome can become the first winner of thoroughbred racing’s Triple Crown since Affirmed in 1978 by adding a victory at the Belmont Stakes to his successes in last month’s Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes. After 18:30 at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York.

-NHL Stanley Cup finals. The Los Angeles Kings play the New York Rangers in Game 2 of the best-of-seven series. 19:00 EDT.

-French Open tennis. The women’s singles final takes place at Roland Garros in Paris. 14:00 CET (08:00 EDT).

-PGA Tour. St. Jude Classic continues. TPC Southwind in Memphis, Tennessee. Though June 8.

-The Epsom Derby, the richest race in English horse racing with a prize fund of 1.3 million pounds ($2.2 million), takes place south of London. Australia, trained by Aidan O’Brien, is the bookmakers’ favorite. 16:00 U.K. time (11:00 EDT).

-Rugby Internationals. World champion New Zealand hosts England in Auckland in the first game of a three-match series. 19:35 local time (03:35 EDT). Australia plays France in Brisbane at 20:00 local time (06:00 EDT).

SUNDAY, JUNE 8

-Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi begins a two-day trip to India as the Asian giants seek to boost long-strained relations after Narendra Modi swept to power last month. Modi, planning to modernize India’s economy, is prioritizing contact with China, with which it has a disputed border.

-International Monetary Fund Managing Director Christine Lagarde is interviewed on BBC Television’s “Andrew Marr Show.” She’s likely to be asked about the U.K. economic outlook and the possibility she might become president of the European Commission. The program starts at 09:00 London time (04:00 EDT).

-Egypt’s Abdel-Fattah el-Sisi is expected to be sworn in as the country’s new president. El-Sisi, who toppled Mohamed Mursi almost a year ago, campaigned on promises to end the polarization and unrest that have plagued Egypt since 2011, and to revive an economy growing at its slowest pace in two decades. Timing to be determined.

-Kosovo holds parliamentary elections. The polls open at 07:00 CET (01:00 EDT) and close at 19:00.

-ECONOMY: China trade data (May).

-French Open tennis. The men’s singles final takes place at Roland Garros in Paris. 14:00 CET (08:00 EDT).

-Formula One’s Canadian Grand Prix takes place in Montreal. Mercedes drivers Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton have won all six races so far. 14:00 EDT.

-NBA finals. The San Antonio Spurs play the Miami Heat, the two-time defending champion, in Game 2 of the best-of-seven NBA Finals. 20:00 EDT.

MONDAY, JUNE 9

-Japan’s first-quarter GDP. The initial reading was for annualized growth of 5.9 percent. The economy is forecast to shrink 3.5 percent in the current quarter following an increase in the sales tax, before returning to growth in the July-September period. 08:50 in Tokyo (06/08 19:50 EDT).

-Leaders from Sweden, Germany, the U.K. and the Netherlands meet in Harpsund, Sweden, to discuss making Europe more competitive and who should be the next European Commission president. Merkel and Cameron will attend. The leaders will hold a joint press conference tomorrow, June 10, at 10:45 CET (04:45 EDT).

-U.S. Supreme Court justices are scheduled to discuss in a private conference this week whether to hear Argentina’s appeal in a case involving defaulted debt holders led by Elliott Management Corp.’s Paul Singer. The announcement of that decision may not come until later this month. In Washington.

-The China Association of Automobile Manufacturers issues sales data for May. Passenger-car sales rose 13 percent in April as consumers brought forward purchases in anticipation that more cities will impose ownership restrictions to fight pollution. Due as early as June 9.

-Conference of Montreal. The speakers include Lagarde; Russ Girling, chief executive officer of TransCanada Corp.; Bank of France Governor Christian Noyer; and Michael Sabia, CEO of Caisse de Depot et Placement du Quebec. Starts at 08:30 in Montreal. Through June 12.

-E3 Video-Game Industry Conference. Microsoft Corp. and Sony Corp. hold rival press conferences to highlight their latest consoles, a day before the official opening on June 10 of the Electronic Entertainment Expo. The three-day event draws industry players including Activision Blizzard Inc., Oculus VR Inc. and Electronic Arts Inc. In Los Angeles. Through June 12.

-Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton is interviewed on ABC News by Diane Sawyer, Clinton’s first interview on her new book, “Hard Choices,” to be released on June 10, about her tenure in U.S. President Barack Obama’s Cabinet. Broadcast at 21:00 EDT.

-Athletes’ case against NCAA goes to trial. A nonjury trial starts over revenue that U.S. colleges receive annually from sports. College athletes are demanding that they be allowed to negotiate for a share of the proceeds from game broadcasts. 08:30 in Oakland, California, (11:30 EDT).

-Moscow City Court is due to sentence those found guilty in the 2006 murder of journalist Anna Politkovskaya.

-Bloomberg LINK Next Big Thing conference. Click here for the agenda and here for speakers. Starts 07:30 at Cavallo Point in Sausalito, California (10:30 EDT). Through June. 10.

-U.S. government bond auctions, Fed debt purchases. Click here for weekly schedule.

-U.S. Supreme Court is in session for 2013-14 period. Click here for weekly schedule.

-ECONOMY: Mexico inflation (May), Japan current account (April), Turkey industrial production (April), Czech Republic CPI (CZCPYOY) (May).

-NHL Stanley Cup finals. The New York Rangers play the Los Angeles Kings in Game 3 of the best-of-seven series. 20:00 EDT.

TUESDAY, JUNE 10

-Bergdahl-Taliban swap hearings. U.S. congressional committees will examining President Barack Obama’s decision to swap five imprisoned Taliban leaders for captured U.S. Army Sergeant Bowe Bergdahl. The Senate Armed Services Committee has scheduled a closed briefing today at 10:00. Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel is scheduled to testify tomorrow, June 11, before the House Armed Services Committee. In Washington.

-China reports new local-currency lending, aggregate financing and M2 money supply for May, as authorities press a campaign to tame financial dangers. In April, aggregate financing fell 25 percent from a year earlier and money supply grew 13.2 percent after record-low growth in March. Due anytime June 10-15.

-Morgan Stanley Financials Conference. (MS) Scheduled speakers include James Gorman, chief executive officer of Morgan Stanley; Ken Moelis, CEO of Moelis & Co.; Michael Carpenter, CEO of Ally Financial Inc.; John Shrewsberry, chief financial officer of Well Fargo & Co.; and Marianne Lake, CFO of JPMorgan Chase & Co. 08:00 in New York. Through July 11.

-U.S. Congressional primaries are held in five states including Virginia, where House Majority Leader Eric Cantor is defending his seat against Randolph-Macon College economics professor Dave Brat. In South Carolina, Senator Lindsey Graham needs a majority to win the Republican primary outright and avoid a runoff. Polls close in both states at 19:00 EDT. There are also primaries in Maine, Nevada and North Dakota.

-European Commission President Jose Barroso gives the keynote address at the Brussels Economic Forum. 09:00 CET in Brussels (03:00 EDT).

-Reserve Bank of Australia Governor Glenn Stevens speaks on financial regulation at the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco’s Symposium on Asian Banking and Finance. 09:00 in San Francisco (12:00 EDT).

-JPMorgan CEO Jamie Dimon speaks at a company summit closed to media on its China business strategy. 09:00 in Beijing (06/09 21:00 EDT).

-ECB governing council member Erkki Liikanen speaks at the Bank of Finland’s quarterly press briefing. 10:00 in Helsinki (03:00 EDT).

-Harbor’s Aluminum Outlook Summit. Speakers include Colin Hamilton, head of commodities research at Macquarie Group Ltd. and Terry Duffy, chairman of CME Group Inc. Starts 08:00 in Chicago (09:00 EDT). Through June 11.

-The International Grains Council annual conference takes place in London. The speakers include Joe Glauber, chief economist at the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 09:00 U.K. time (04:00 EDT).

-The International Cocoa Organization annual conference in Amsterdam. The speakers include Jos de Loor, president of Cargill Inc.’s cocoa and chocolate unit; Andy Harner, global cocoa vice president at Mars Inc.; and Jean-Marc Anga, executive director of the ICCO. 09:00 CET in Amsterdam (03:00 EDT). Through 06/13.

-The U.K. begins a four-day global meeting in London aimed at halting rape and sexual violence in war. Foreign Secretary William Hague is co-hosting the event with actress Angelina Jolie, a special envoy of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

-Italian Prime Minister Matteo Renzi visits China as he seeks to boost foreign investment. Through 06/12. Timing to be determined.

-ECONOMY: JOLTs U.S. job openings (April), U.S. wholesale inventories (April), China CPI (CNCPIYOY) (May), China PPI (CHEFTYOY) (May), Greek consumer price index (May), Swiss unemployment (May), Swiss retail sales (April), Italian industrial output (April), Italy GDP (ITPIRLQS) (first quarter, final), U.K. industrial production (April), Bank of France Business Sentiment (May), French industrial production (April), South Africa manufacturing production (April), Turkey gross domestic product (first quarter), Egypt CPI (EGCPYOY) (May).

-NBA finals. The Miami Heat play the San Antonio Spurs in Game 3. 21:00 EDT.

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 11

-U.S. Treasury Secretary Jacob J. Lew to speak at the Economic Club of New York. 08:00 in New York.

-Goldman Sachs Group Inc.’s Energy summit. Participants include U.S. Vice President Joe Biden, Mexican Finance Secretary Luis Videgaray Caso and Petroleos Mexicanos CEO Emilio Lozoya. 07:30 in New York.

-Obama delivers the commencement speech at Worcester Technical High School in Worcester, Massachusetts. Time to be announced.

-Galaxy Entertainment Group Ltd. (27) holds its annual general meeting, with Chairman Lui Che Woo and Deputy Chairman Francis Lui in attendance. 11:00 in Hong Kong (06/10 23:00 EDT).

-National Association of Real Estate Editors -- Real Estate Journalism Conference. Speakers include Lawrence Yun, chief economist of the National Association of Realtors, and C. Hastings Johnson, vice chairman of Hines. Starts 08:30 in Houston. Through June 14.

-Ministers from members of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries are due to attend a meeting in Vienna to discuss oil supply. 08:00 CET in Vienna (02:00 EDT).

-The Cereals trade show takes place in Cambridgeshire, U.K. The speakers include Environment Secretary Owen Paterson. 11:30 (06:30 EDT).

-The Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences issues production estimates for wheat, barley, canola and cotton. Australia is the world’s biggest exporter of barley and second-largest shipper of canola. 09:00 in Canberra (06/10 19:00 EDT).

-Serbian Prime Minister Aleksandar Vucic meets with Merkel in Berlin at 09:00 CET (03:00 EDT).

-The U.S. Department of Agriculture releases its monthly report on supply and demand for crops. 12:00 in Washington.

-The U.S. Energy Information Administration releases its weekly oil supply report. 10:30 in Washington.

-ECONOMY: U.S. monthly budget statement (May), Mexico industrial production (April), South Korea jobless rate (May), South Korea bank lending to households (May), South Korea money supply data (April), U.K. unemployment (May), Hungary CPI (HUCPIYY) (May).

-EARNINGS: Inditex SA. (ITX)

-NHL Stanley Cup finals. The New York Rangers play the Los Angeles Kings in Game 4. Additional games played if necessary. 20:00 EDT.

THURSDAY, JUNE 12

-Retail sales in the U.S. probably picked up in May as more Americans bought cars and took to shopping malls, according to a Bloomberg survey, signaling consumer spending gains will help the economy rebound. The Commerce Department releases the figures at 08:30 in Washington.

-Obama-Abbott White House meeting. Prime Minister Tony Abbott of Australia meets with Obama to discuss trade, Afghanistan and priorities in the Asia-Pacific region. In Washington. Timing to be announced.

-The Bank of Korea’s monetary policy committee meets to decide the nation’s benchmark interest rate, which has been at 2.5 percent since a surprise cut in May 2013. Finance Minister Hyun Oh Seok said June 5 that a deadly ferry accident hurt consumption and some service sectors. 10:00 in Seoul (06/11 21:00 EDT).

-Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne makes his annual speech to London’s finance industry at a dinner at the Mansion House in the U.K. capital. Timing to be confirmed.

-Ontario election. Voters in Canada’s most-populous province go to the polls with Liberal Party Premier Kathleen Wynne pledging more intervention and Progressive Conservative Party leader Tim Hudak offering austerity. Polls suggest another minority government is likely, giving labor-oriented Andrea Horwath’s New Democratic Party the balance of power. Voting ends at 21:00 EDT.

-The European Central Bank publishes its monthly report. 10:00 CET (04:00 EDT).

-The U.S. Energy Information Administration releases its weekly natural gas supply report. 10:30 in Washington.

-ECONOMY: U.S. initial jobless claims (weekly), U.S. consumer comfort (weekly), U.S. business inventories (April), Brazil retail sales (April), Japan machinery orders (April), Australia Employment (AULFEMPC) (May), U.K. RICS house-price balance (May), French consumer prices (May), Turkey current account balance (April).

-CENTRAL BANKS: New Zealand rate decision, Indonesia rate decision, Chile rate decision, Peru rate decision.

-Soccer’s World Cup starts in Brazil, with the host country meeting Croatia in Sao Paulo. Brazil is seeking a record-extending sixth trophy. 17:00 local time (16:00 EDT).

-PGA Tour. The $8 million U.S. Open, won by Justin Rose in 2013, begins at Pinehurst Resort in Pinehurst, North Carolina. Tiger Woods won’t play due to an injury. Tee times and pairings to be determined. Through June 15.

-NBA finals. The Miami Heat play the San Antonio Spurs in Game 4. Additional games will take place if necessary. 21:00 EDT.

FRIDAY, JUNE 13

-Consumer sentiment in the U.S. probably climbed in June, according to a Bloomberg survey, showing Americans are growing more upbeat about the economy as the labor market strengthens. The Thomson Reuters/University of Michigan’s preliminary confidence reading for the month will be reported at 09:55 in Washington.

-The Bank of Japan decides monetary policy after a two-day meeting. Usually about 12:00 in Tokyo (06/12 23:00 EDT). Governor Haruhiko Kuroda will give a press conference at 15:30.

-A U.S. International Trade Commission judge in Washington will give his findings in InterDigital Inc.’s patent-infringement case against ZTE Corp. and Microsoft Corp., which bought Nokia Oyj’s mobile phone business. Timing to be determined.

-ECB Governing Council member Luis Maria Linde, also governor of the Bank of Spain, speaks in Madrid. 09:30 CET (03:30 EDT).

-Honda Motor Co. (7267) holds its annual general meeting, attended by CEO Takanobu Ito. 09:00 in Tokyo (06/12 20:00 EDT).

-The International Energy Agency releases its monthly oil-market report detailing supply and demand trends. 10:00 CET in Paris (04:00 EDT).

-ECONOMY: U.S. producer price index (May), China retail sales (May), China industrial production (May), Argentina inflation (May), French non-farm payrolls (first quarter).

-CENTRAL BANKS: Mozambique rate decision.

-SOVEREIGN RATING UPDATES: Austria (DBRS), Bahrain (S&P), Bulgaria (S&P), Cape Verde (S&P), France (Fitch), Ghana (Moody’s), Italy (Moody’s), Kazakhstan (S&P), Latvia (Moody’s), Lebanon (Fitch), South Africa (Fitch & S&P), Sweden (DBRS), U.K. (Fitch & S&P).

-Soccer World Cup. Mexico meets Cameroon in Natal at 13:00 local time (12:00 EDT). Spain plays the Netherlands in Salvador at 16:00 local time (15:00 EDT). Chile is up against Australia in Cuiaba at 18:00 local time (18:00 EDT).

SATURDAY, JUNE 14

-Soccer World Cup. Colombia plays Greece in Belo Horizonte at 13:00 local time (12:00 EDT). Uruguay meets Costa Rica in Fortaleza at 16:00 local time (15:00 EDT). England is up against Italy in Manaus at 18:00 local time (18:00 EDT). Ivory Coast and Japan play in Recife at 22:00 local time (21:00 EDT).

To contact the reporters on this story: James Amott in London at jamott@bloomberg.net; Greg Miles in New York at gmiles1@bloomberg.net; Jim McDonald in Tokyo at jmcdonald8@bloomberg.net

To contact the editors responsible for this story: Tal Barak Harif at tbarak@bloomberg.net Andy Davidson

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.