Skip to content
Subscriber Only

Croatia and Bulgaria May Adopt Euro in 2024, Dombrovskis Says

Dubrovnik, Croatiia.

Dubrovnik, Croatiia.

Photographer: Ivan Vukovic/AFP via Getty Images

Croatia and Bulgaria may join the euro area in January 2024, European Commissioner Valdis Dombrovskis said.

The two European Union nations were admitted into the currency’s waiting room, known as the ERM-2, last week and must spend at least two years there working to fulfill the Maastricht criteria.