Skip to content
Subscriber Only

Facebook Alters Settings So New Users Share Only With Friends

Facebook Inc. is narrowing who gets to see a new member’s posts, dialing back what gets shared on the social network after facing years of outrage over its privacy policies.

Starting today, the posts of new users who begin sharing on Facebook will only be visible to their friends. By contrast, the social network’s default settings previously made posts public, making it easy for people who didn’t know their way around the service to accidentally share information more widely, Facebook said today in a blog post.