Skip to content
Subscriber Only

Democrats Agree on Leadership as Clyburn Settles for No. 3 Post

Congressman Jim Clyburn agreed to become the third-ranking leader in next year’s House Democratic minority, helping Speaker Nancy Pelosi avert a potentially divisive fight between two of her top lieutenants.

Under an arrangement reached two days ago, Steny Hoyer of Maryland, the current majority leader, would get the No. 2 job of minority whip come January. Clyburn, now majority whip, would hold the post of assistant leader, newly created for the purpose of heading off a contest for the whip position.