Photographer: Sacha Maric for Bloomberg Businessweek
Photographer: Sacha Maric for Bloomberg Businessweek

How to Wear Sleeveless Dresses in Colder Weather

Want to work fall’s minimalist trend? It’s all in the layers.
Keep it professional:  Go for sleeveless versions of classic styles.
Keep it professional: Go for sleeveless versions of classic styles.

J.Crew Collection wool coat, $495; jcrew.com. Paul Smith turtleneck, $295; paulsmith.co.uk. Altuzarra pants, $1,995; barneys.com. Miansai cylinder ring, $75, and Hudson ring, $105; miansai.com. Christian Louboutin pumps, $675; us.christianlouboutin.com.

Photographer: Sacha Maric for Bloomberg Businessweek; Fashion Editor: Shibon Kennedy; Set Design: Dave Bryant; Hair and Makeup: Colby Smith

Lightweight layers prevent bulkiness.
Lightweight layers prevent bulkiness.

Carven wool dress, $990; carven.com. Paul Smith sweater, $285; paulsmith.co.uk. Yael Sonia earrings, $4,990; yaelsonia.com. Gucci watch, $950; gucci.com. Bally purse, $1,995; bally.com. Old Navy tights, $10.50; oldnavy.com. Sportmax heels, $585; Sportmax Soho.

Photographer: Sacha Maric for Bloomberg Businessweek; Fashion Editor: Shibon Kennedy; Set Design: Dave Bryant; Hair and Makeup: Colby Smith

Put a pattern underneath to break up big shapes.
Put a pattern underneath to break up big shapes.

M. Patmos coat, $1,395; mpatmos.com. M. Patmos boatneck, $395; mpatmos.com. Sportmax pants, $545; Sportmax Soho. Yael Sonia earrings, $3,990; yaelsonia.com. Bally heels, $695; bally.com.

Photographer: Sacha Maric for Bloomberg Businessweek; Fashion Editor: Shibon Kennedy; Set Design: Dave Bryant; Hair and Makeup: Colby Smith

Bare arms too risqué? Start with a long-sleeved T-shirt.
Bare arms too risqué? Start with a long-sleeved T-shirt.

Club Monaco sweater, $149.50; clubmonaco.com. Kate Spade New York coat, $728; katespade.com. Altuzarra skirt, $1,195; matchesfashion.com. Robert Lee Morris cuff, $495; robertleemorris.com. Old Navy socks, $9; oldnavy.com. Madewell sandals, $158; madewell.com.

Photographer: Sacha Maric for Bloomberg Businessweek; Fashion Editor: Shibon Kennedy; Set Design: Dave Bryant; Hair and Makeup: Colby Smith

Layering over long  sleeves makes a strappy dress work-appropriate.
Layering over long sleeves makes a strappy dress work-appropriate.

Marni dress, $2,360; available at Marni boutiques. Fendi turtleneck, $750; fendi.com. Michelle Campbell choker, $140; campbellcollections.com; Robert Lee Morris cuff, $450; robertleemorris.com. Trademark bag, $528; trade-mark.com. Jil Sander boots, price on request; Jil Sander, Madison Avenue.

Photographer: Sacha Maric for Bloomberg Businessweek; Fashion Editor: Shibon Kennedy; Set Design: Dave Bryant; Hair and Makeup: Colby Smith

Coach biker shearling vest, $1,295; coach.com. J. Crew turtleneck sweater, $298; jcrew.com. J. Crew Point Sur Japanese denim wide-leg cropped jean, $238; jcrew.com. Pierre Hardy Obi Nappa CB Floq, $795; Bergdorf Goodman. Robert Clergerie TARIN booties, $750; available at Robert Clergerie. Miansai cylinder ring, $75, and Hudson ring, $105miansai.com. Alexis Bittar thin collar necklace, $195; alexisbittar.com.

Photographer: Sacha Maric for Bloomberg Businessweek; Fashion Editor: Shibon Kennedy; Set Design: Dave Bryant; Hair and Makeup: Colby Smith