Skip to content

South American Countries Pitch Joint Hosting of 2030 World Cup

  • Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay submit candidacy to FIFA
  • Argentine President Fernandez wants to add Bolivia as host
The World Cup Trophy

The World Cup Trophy

Photographer: Stuart Franklin/Getty Images 

Officials from Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile formally announced a candidacy to jointly host the 2030 World Cup on Tuesday. If selected, it would commemorate a century since the first tournament, which was hosted there. 

The countries, which comprise South America’s Southern Cone, proposed holding the World Cup across the region on Tuesday. Argentine President Alberto Fernandez said he wanted to add Bolivia to the candidacy as well.