Skip to content

India’s Lawmakers to Vote in Presidential Elections on July 18

Ram Nath Kovind

Ram Nath Kovind

Photographer: Dean Lewins/Pool/Getty Images

India’s federal and state lawmakers will vote for a new president on July 18 to succeed Ram Nath Kovind, whose five-year term comes to an end next month.

The counting of votes will take place on July 21, Rajiv Kumar, chief election commissioner of India, said at a press conference in Delhi on Thursday.