Skip to content
Subscriber Only

Australia Tightens Border Curbs Against New Virus Variant

  • Direct flights suspended from nine southern African Countries
  • Health Minister Hunt makes announcement in press conference
Updated on

Australia has introduced new Covid-19 border security measures to protect against the new omicron variant.

Direct flights from nine southern African countries will be suspended immediately, Health Minister Greg Hunt said in a press conference on Saturday. The countries are South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, the Seychelles, Malawi and Mozambique.