Skip to content
Open the Data Dash
Energy & Science

Three Scientists Win Nobel for Work on Climate Breakthroughs

Updated on
  • Manabe, Hasselmann awarded physics prize for climate models
  • Parisi wins for studies ranging from atomic to planetary scale
Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi.

Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi.

Source: Nobel Prize

Three scientists won the Nobel Prize in physics for their breakthroughs in how we understand the planet’s climate and the challenges presented by global warming.

Syukuro Manabe, a meteorologist at Princeton University, and Klaus Hasselmann, a professor at the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, were awarded half the prize for laying “the foundation of our knowledge of the Earth’s climate and how humanity influences it,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said.