Skip to content
Subscriber Only

China Hits U.S. Officials With Sanctions, Avoids Top Trump Aides

  • Rubio, Cruz, HRW executive director among 11 to be sanctioned
  • U.S. has sanctioned Hong Kong officials including Carrie Lam
Video player cover image
WATCH: The list doesn’t include any members of the Trump administration.Source: Bloomberg
Updated on

China said it will sanction 11 Americans in retaliation for similar measures imposed by the U.S. on Friday, but the list doesn’t include any members of the Trump administration.

Those sanctioned include Senators Marco Rubio, Ted Cruz, Tom Cotton and Pat Toomey; Congressman Chris Smith; Human Rights Watch Executive Director Kenneth Roth; National Endowment for Democracy President Carl Gershman; and Michael Abramowitz, the president of Freedom House, Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Zhao Lijian told a briefing in Beijing on Monday.