Skip to content
Subscriber Only

Wells Fargo Says Four Board Members Will Leave

  • Directors Pena, Dean, Hernandez, Chen to leave next month
  • Critics including Senator Elizabeth Warren have sought changes
Video player cover image

Four Wells Fargo Board Members Announce Retirement

Updated on

Four Wells Fargo & Co. board members, including its three longest-serving directors, plan to retire next month amid mounting pressure for new oversight as an 18-month scandal continues to expand.

Federico F. Pena, Lloyd H. Dean, Enrique Hernandez Jr. and John S. Chen will leave at the company’s annual shareholder meeting on April 24, the company said Thursday in a statement. Critics including U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren have demanded the board push out members who presided over the bank when employees created millions of fake accounts.