South Africa’s Provinces Hold the Key to Power in ANC: Chart

South Africa’s ruling African National Congress will choose its new leader in December, and the race is likely to be decided by party branches from the nine provinces which were allocated a number of voting delegates based on their audited membership over the weekend. While President Jacob Zuma’s home province of KwaZulu-Natal remains the most powerful, its dominance has slipped since the last party vote five years ago and it’s no longer a united bloc, with the three leading candidates -- Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, the former chairwoman of the African Union Commission and the president’s ex-wife, and ANC Treasurer-General Zweli Mkhize -- all commanding some support. That could position the eastern Mpumalanga province, which has gone on a recruitment drive and now has the second-most voting delegates, as the kingmaker in the all-important contest.

    Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.