Barish, Thorne, Weiss Win 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

Rainer Weiss from Germany, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne, both from the U.S., were awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Nobel Prize winners in Physics announced, Oct. 3.

Photographer: Jonathan Nackstrand/AFP via Getty Images

The winners got the prize for their "decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves," the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement on Tuesday. "The waves, which were predicted by Albert Einstein a hundred years ago, came from a collision between two black holes. It took 1.3 billion years for the waves to arrive at the LIGO detector in the U.S."

Annual prizes for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, peace and literature were established in the will of Alfred Nobel, the Swedish inventor of dynamite, who died in 1896. The prize in economic sciences was added by Sweden’s central bank in 1968. The total amount for each of the 2017 prizes is 9 million kronor ($1.1 million), up from 8 million kronor last year.

    Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.