Skip to content
Subscriber Only

Tanzania Seeks EAC Delay Signing European Union Trade Pact

  • Individual signing by Kenya, Rwanda is ‘insignificant’
  • Nation also wants revisions to regional customs union

Tanzania wants the six-nation East African Community bloc to delay signing a trade agreement with the European Union to consider the impact the treaty may have on their economies.

The countries have been negotiating the so-called Economic Partnership Agreement, or EPA, with the European Union since 2002, a pact that will give it duty- and quota-free access for produce including flowers, fruit and vegetables. The EAC groups Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and South Sudan.