War-Torn South Sudan Officially Joins East African Community

South Sudan joined the East African Community, a regional trade bloc that also includes Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi.

President Salva Kiir signed the treaty on Friday in Tanzania’s commercial capital, Dar es Salaam, the EAC said on its Twitter account. The oil-producing nation has been mired in civil war since December 2013.

The bloc had a combined population of at least 162 million people and gross domestic product of $147.5 billion, excluding South Sudan. It aspires to adopt a single currency and political federation.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.