Kajita, McDonald Win 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics

Takaaki Kajita in Japan and Arthur B. McDonald in Canada were awarded the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics for "the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass," the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement on Tuesday.

Photos of the winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald

Photographer: Jonathan Nackstrand/AFP via Getty Images

Annual prizes for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, peace and literature were established in the will of Alfred Nobel, the Swedish inventor of dynamite, who died in 1896. The prize in economic sciences was added by Sweden’s central bank in 1968. The total amount for each of the 2015 prizes is 8 million kronor ($962,000).

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.