Skip to content
Subscriber Only

Russian Soccer Leagues Banned From Adding Crimean Teams

European soccer’s governing body banned Russia from including teams from the Crimea region annexed by the Kremlin this year in its national competitions.

UEFA declared the area a “special zone,” and will require all the region’s competitions to operate under the consent of UEFA and the Ukrainian soccer federation. The move was announced today at a press conference after a UEFA executive committee meeting in Nyon, Switzerland.