Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez on Hall of Fame Ballot

Randy Johnson and Pedro Martinez are among 17 new candidates on the 2015 ballot for the National Baseball Hall of Fame after winning eight Cy Young Awards between them as the best pitcher in their league.

Johnson, 51, won his first Cy Young in the American League with the Seattle Mariners in 1995 and then four straight in the National League with the Arizona Diamondbacks from 1999-2002. The 6-foot-10 left-hander won 303 games -- one of 24 pitchers to eclipse the 300-win milestone -- and his 4,875 strikeouts over 22 seasons rank second in Major League Baseball history.

Martinez, 43, had a 209-100 record with a 2.93 earned run average over 18 seasons and also won Cy Young Awards in both leagues, with the Montreal Expos in 1997 and the Boston Red Sox in 1999 and 2000.

Denny McLain and Bret Saberhagen are the only two eligible pitchers with multiple Cy Young Awards not in the Hall of Fame.

John Smoltz, the National League’s 1996 Cy Young winner, is among the other first-time eligible players, along with infielder Nomar Garciaparra and outfielder Gary Sheffield. There are also 17 holdovers on the 2015 ballot released yesterday, including Craig Biggio, who missed the 75 percent qualifying mark this past year by two votes, tying the smallest margin in history.

Pitchers Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine, two of Smoltz’s former Atlanta Braves teammates, were inducted into the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York, this year along with first baseman Frank Thomas. It marked the first time three first-ballot nominees were inducted since 1999.

About 600 members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America with 10 consecutive years of membership are eligible to vote. Ballots must be postmarked by Dec. 27, and the results will be announced Jan. 6.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.