Russia Deputy Premier Kozak Included on EU Sanctions List

Russian Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Kozak is among 15 people the European Union added to its list of those sanctioned to protest Russia’s actions in Ukraine.

The list of individuals subject to travel bans and asset freezes also includes Ludmila Shvetsova and Sergei Neverov, both identified as a deputy chairman of the State Duma, according to a statement published today in the EU’s Official Journal. The additional names bring to 70 the number of people the EU has blacklisted for destabilizing Ukraine.

The EU said yesterday that the people on the list are “responsible for actions which undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.” The decision takes effect with today’s publication of the names.

The EU measures were taken in coordination with the U.S., which yesterday announced sanctions on seven more individuals and 17 companies linked to Russian President Vladimir Putin’s inner circle. The EU and the U.S. say Russia hasn’t lived up to an accord signed on April 17 in Geneva intended to defuse the confrontation between the Ukrainian government and pro-Russian separatists supported by the government in Moscow.

EU preparations for “stage three” measures that would affect broader sectors of the Russian economy are “very advanced,” Maja Kocijancic, spokeswoman for European foreign-affairs chief Catherine Ashton, said yesterday in Brussels. The U.S. has warned that it also is prepared to levy penalties hitting sectors of Russia’s economy if Putin escalates by sending troops into Ukraine.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.