Texas A&M’s Manziel Among Four Quarterbacks in Heisman Finalists

Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M University, who won the Heisman Trophy in 2012 as the top player in U.S. college football, was among six finalists announced last night for the 2013 award.

Manziel was one of four quarterbacks invited to the Dec. 14 ceremony in New York at which the winner will be announced.

Joining Manziel among the finalists are quarterbacks Jordan Lynch of Northern Illinois, AJ McCarron of Alabama and Jameis Winston of Florida State, as well as running backs Tre Mason of Auburn and Andre Williams of Boston College.

Manziel is seeking to become the second player to win the annual award twice, joining Ohio State running back Archie Griffin, who won in 1974 and 1975.

Manziel was the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy when he captured the award last season. Florida State’s Winston, who has led the Seminoles to the nation’s top ranking, is trying to become the second.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.