Managers Torre, Cox, La Russa Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

Former managers Joe Torre, Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa were elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the organization’s Expansion Era committee.

George Steinbrenner, the New York Yankees owner who died in 2010, and former baseball union leader Marvin Miller were among the people who did not get the required 75 percent of votes from the 16-member committee.

Torre won won four World Series titles and six pennants with the Yankees. In total, he was a major-league manager for 29 seasons, following an 18-year major-league playing career in which he compiled a career .297 batting average. As a manager, he posted a 2,326-1,997 record.

Cox ranks fourth in wins among managers, compiling a 2,504-2,001 record in 29 seasons as a major-league manager, capturing the 1995 World Series and five National League pennants in 25 years with the Braves. He also managed the Toronto Blue Jays.

La Russa ranks third all-time in wins among managers, compiling a 2,728-2,365 record in 33 seasons. He won three World Series, one with the Oakland Athletics and two with the St. Louis Cardinals. He also managed the Chicago White Sox for eight years.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.