Tigers’ Cabrera Repeats as AL MVP, Pirates’ McCutchen Wins in NL

Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera was voted American League Most Valuable Player for the second consecutive season, and Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen won the National League award.

A year after becoming the first Triple Crown winner in Major League Baseball since 1967, Cabrera again won the AL batting championship and helped the Tigers reach the playoffs.

“This is unbelievable,” Cabrera said. “I’m so excited right now.”

McCutchen led the Pirates to their first playoff appearance in 21 years. He batted .317 with 21 home runs, 84 runs batted in and 27 stolen bases.

“If I could get up and dance right now I would, but I don’t have much room to do that,” McCutchen said. “When I get off camera, I probably will.”

Cabrera became the first repeat winner of the award in the AL since Frank Thomas of the Chicago White Sox in 1993 and 1994. A Detroit player has been chosen MVP the past three seasons, with pitcher Justin Verlander winning in 2011.

Cabrera batted .348 and finished second with 138 runs batted in and 44 home runs in 2013. He received 23 first-place votes for a total of 385 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Best Slugging Percentage

Mike Trout, an outfielder for the Los Angeles Angels who led the AL with 109 runs scored, drew five first-place votes and a total of 282 points to finish as runner-up for the second straight season. Chris Davis of the Baltimore Orioles was third after leading the league with 53 homers and 138 RBIs.

An 11-year major league veteran and eight-time All-Star, Cabrera matched his home run output from 2012, finished within two RBIs of his 2012 total and batted 18 points better. The 30-year-old infielder also had a .636 slugging percentage, the best in the AL, as the Tigers went 93-69 to win the AL Central.

McCutchen, in his fifth year in the majors, turned 27 the day after the Pirates were eliminated by the St. Louis Cardinals in the NL division series. Pittsburgh, which went 94-68 in 2013, had compiled losing seasons every year since the club last made the playoffs in 1992.

The Pirates outfielder received 28 first-place votes and a total of 409 points. Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, who led the league in home runs and RBIs, was second with 242 points. St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina, who batted .319 as his club posted the best record in the NL, had the other two first-place votes and 219 points.

McCutchen finished third in MVP voting a year ago, behind winner Buster Posey of the San Francisco Giants and Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.