World Series MVP Ortiz, Cano Win 2013 MLB Silver Slugger Winners

World Series Most Valuable Player David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox and New York Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano were among the 18 winners of Major League Baseball’s annual Silver Slugger awards.

Ortiz, 37, the designated hitter who batted .688 with two home runs in Boston’s World Series victory against the St. Louis Cardinals, is a six-time winner of the award, presented each year to the best offensive player at each position in the American League and National League. Voted on by MLB managers and coaches, the winners were announced yesterday on MLB Network.

Cano, 31, who is a free agent, led all AL second baseman with a .314 average, 27 home runs and 107 runs batted in. The only player from either New York team to win the honor, Cano has won a Silver Slugger award five times in his career.

Pedro Alvarez of the Pittsburgh Pirates and Paul Goldschmidt of the Arizona Diamondbacks, who tied for the National League home run crown with 36 each, were among nine first-time winners.

Three Baltimore Orioles, including AL home run leader Chris Davis, received the honor, more than from any other team.

American League Silver Slugger Winners
1B - Chris Davis - Baltimore Orioles
2B - Robinson Cano - New York Yankees
3B - Miguel Cabrera - Detroit Tigers
SS - J.J. Hardy - Baltimore Orioles
OF - Mike Trout - Los Angeles Angels
OF - Torii Hunter - Detroit Tigers
OF - Adam Jones - Baltimore Orioles
C - Joe Mauer - Minnesota Twins
DH - David Ortiz - Boston Red Sox

National League Silver Slugger Winners
1B - Paul Goldschmidt - Arizona Diamondbacks
2B - Matt Carpenter - St. Louis Cardinals
3B - Pedro Alvarez - Pittsburgh Pirates
SS - Ian Desmond - Washington Nationals
OF - Andrew McCutchen - Pittsburgh Pirates
OF - Michael Cuddyer - Colorado Rockies
OF - Jay Bruce - Cincinnati Reds
C - Yadier Molina - St. Louis Cardinals
P - Zack Greinke - Los Angeles Dodgers
Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.