Nova Scotia Liberals Return to Power With Majority

The Nova Scotia Liberal Party returned to power for the first time in more than a decade after winning a majority in provincial elections yesterday.

The Liberals, led by Stephen McNeil, were elected in 33 of 51 electoral districts, according to results posted on Elections Nova Scotia’s website as of 12:05 a.m. local time. McNeil, who won his riding of Annapolis with about three quarters of 10,100 votes cast, becomes the province’s 28th premier since confederation. The Progressive Conservatives won in 11 ridings and the governing New Democratic Party took seven.

Premier Darrell Dexter, party leader since 2001, lost his seat in the Cole Harbour-Portland Valley district by 31 votes, according to Elections Nova Scotia. Dexter took the NDP to power for the first time in 2009. The party held 31 seats in the legislature when the election was called last month.

The Liberals, who had 12 seats when the legislature was dissolved, took 45 percent of the popular vote, CBC reported, versus 27 percent each for the Conservatives and the NDP. Leader Jamie Baillie’s Conservatives held seven seats at dissolution, with two seats vacant.

The Liberals haven’t held power in Nova Scotia since 1999. The province, about 870 miles northeast of New York, is Canada’s fourth-smallest by population.

(Corrects geographic reference in fifth paragraph.)
Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.