Swansea Beats Valencia 3-0 in Europa League as Tottenham Wins

Swansea beat 10-man Valencia 3-0 in soccer’s Europa League, as two-time champion Tottenham Hotspur defeated Tromso 3-0.

Wilfried Bony, Miguel Michu and Jonathan De Guzman scored last night in Swansea’s first game in European competition in 21 years. Jermaine Defoe netted twice for Tottenham to move within three goals of becoming the team’s leading scorer in Europe.

Frankfurt and Sevilla, two other former winners of the continent’s second-tier club competition also won as the group stage opened. PSV Eindhoven, another ex-champion, was beaten.

Valencia, the 2004 winner, went a man down after 10 minutes at home as Adil Rami received a red card for taking down Bony, who gave Swansea the lead four minutes later. The Swans then clinched the win on goals from Michu and De Guzman four minutes apart in the second half.

Swansea’s last European appearance came in the 1991-92 Cup Winners’ Cup, where it lost to Monaco. In the other Group A match, St. Gallen beat Kuban Krasnodar 2-0.

Defoe scored twice in the first half and Christian Eriksen added a long-range strike in the second as Tottenham won in Group K. Defoe lifted his tally in European matches to 20 goals for Spurs, two behind Martin Chivers’s record. Sheriff Tiraspol and Anzhi Makhachkala drew 0-0 in the group’s other game.

Frankfurt, the 1980 winner, beat Bordeaux 3-0 in Group F, with Maccabi Tel-Aviv and APOEL finishing 0-0. Two-time champion Sevilla won 2-1 at Estoril, and Freiburg drew 2-2 at home with Slovan Liberec in Group H.

PSV Loses

Both away teams won in Group B as Ludogorets upset 1978 champion PSV 2-0 and Chornomorets Odesa defeated Dinamo Zagreb 2-1. English F.A. Cup champion Wigan Athletic, playing its first European match, was outshot 24-7 by Zulte Waregem but managed a goalless draw in Group D. Rubin Kazan won 5-2 at Maribor.

Lazio won 1-0 over Legia Warsaw and Trabzonspor defeated Apollon 2-1 in Group J. Zvonimir Vukic’s goal in stoppage time gave PAOK a 2-1 win over Shakhter Karagandy in Group L, while AZ Alkmaar won 1-0 at Maccabi Haifa.

Salzburg routed Elfsborg 4-0 and Esbjerg won 2-1 at Standard Liege in Group C, while in Group E, Fiorentina beat Pacos Ferreira 3-0 and Dnipro defeated Pandurii 1-0.

Dynamo Kiev lost 1-0 at home to Genk and Thun beat Rapid Vienna by the same score in Group G, while Guimaraes routed Rijeka 4-0 in Group I as Real Betis and Lyon drew 0-0.

The top two teams in each of the 12 groups advance to the round of 32 alongside the eight third-place finishers from the elite Champions League group stage.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.