Barkley and Townsend Win First England Soccer Squad Call-Ups

Everton’s Ross Barkley and Tottenham’s Andros Townsend were named to the England soccer squad for next month’s World Cup qualifiers.

England manager Roy Hodgson gave the midfielders their first national team call-ups for the home game against Moldova on Sept. 6 and the away match in Ukraine four days later, the Football Association said in a statement.

Southampton striker Rickie Lambert, who scored the winning goal on his Aug. 14 debut as England defeated Scotland 3-2, was chosen again, while Liverpool’s Daniel Sturridge returns after missing the last match with an injury.

England trails Montenegro by two points in its qualifying group, having played one match fewer. The top teams in the nine European qualifying groups advance to the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, while the top eight second-place teams play off for four places.

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Joe Hart (Manchester
City), John Ruddy (Norwich City).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea),
Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson
(Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Chris Smalling
(Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester
United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard
(Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester
City), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham),
Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Tottenham Hotspur), Rickie Lambert
(Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel
Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United), Ashley
Young (Manchester United).
Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.