Hamilton Tops Belgian GP Qualifying for Fourth Consecutive Pole

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes qualified the fastest for tomorrow’s Belgian Grand Prix, giving the Briton his fourth consecutive Formula One pole position.

Hamilton, the last driver to finish his qualifying run, posted a time of 2 minutes and 1.012 seconds to beat world champion Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull Racing by 0.188 seconds at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit. It’s the fifth pole of the year for Hamilton, who claimed his first victory of the season in the most recent race in Hungary on July 28.

Mark Webber of Red Bull was third-fastest and will start on the second row next to Mercedes’s Nico Rosberg. Force India’s Paul di Resta, McLaren’s Jenson Button, Lotus teammates Romain Grosjean and Kimi Raikkonen and Ferrari drivers Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa rounded out the top 10 qualifiers.

Vettel has won four of the 10 races this season to lead the standings with 172 points, 38 more than Raikkonen. Alonso is third with 133 points and Hamilton is fourth with 124.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.