Tiger Woods Grouped With McDowell, Oosthuizen at British Open

Tiger Woods will play with former major winners Graeme McDowell and Louis Oosthuizen in the first two rounds of the British Open.

Woods is seeking his first major golf championship since the 2008 U.S. Open. The American is the bookmakers’ favorite to win his fourth British Open and 15th major title.

Woods, 2010 U.S. Open winner McDowell of Northern Ireland and 2010 British Open champion Oosthuizen of South Africa will tee off at 2:45 p.m. local time (9:45 a.m. Eastern time) in the first round at Muirfield in eastern Scotland and at 9:45 a.m. (4:45 a.m. Eastern time) in the second round.

Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy, No. 2 in the world ranking, is paired with American Phil Mickelson, who won last weekend’s Scottish Open, and Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama for the first two days.

Defending champion Ernie Els of South Africa, the winner the last time the British Open was played at Muirfield in 2002, will play with U.S. Open winner Justin Rose of England and Brandt Snedeker of the U.S.

Australian Adam Scott, who won his first major at the Masters Tournament in April, is paired with American Matt Kuchar and England’s Luke Donald for the first two days.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.