Alex Ovechkin Named NHL’s Most Valuable Player for Third Time

Alex Ovechkin was named the National Hockey League’s Most Valuable Player for a third time.

The Washington Capitals right wing edged Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and John Tavares of the New York Islanders to collect the Hart Trophy.

Ovechkin led the league with 32 goals during the regular season. The last time he achieved the feat was in 2009, when he won the MVP award for the second straight year.

Ovechkin is the eighth player after record nine-time recipient Wayne Gretzky, Gordie Howe, Eddie Shore, Bobby Clarke, Mario Lemieux, Howie Morenz and Bobby Orr to win the Hart Trophy at least three times.

Ovechkin collected 1,090 points to 1,058 for Crosby in voting by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, making it the closest vote since 2002, when Jose Theodore of the Montreal Canadiens edged Jarome Iginla of the Calgary Flames on first-place votes after the two finished tied in total ballots cast.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.