Bubka, Bach, Oswald Are Among Six Candidates for IOC Presidency

Six candidates will compete in September’s election to replace Jacques Rogge as president of the International Olympic Committee.

Thomas Bach, Sergey Bubka, Richard Carrion, Ser Miang Ng, Denis Oswald and Ching-Kuo Wu officially announced their candidacies by the deadline of midnight June 6, the IOC said today in a statement.

The candidates will present their programs to the full IOC membership during the Olympic organization’s July 3-4 extraordinary session in Lausanne, Switzerland. The election will be held Sept. 10 in Buenos Aires.

Rogge will step down in September after 12 years as head of the Olympic body.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.