Kentucky Derby Winner Orb Given Even Odds to Claim Preakness

Kentucky Derby winner Orb will leave from the rail and is the early favorite at even money in the nine-horse field for the 138th Preakness Stakes, the second leg of thoroughbred horse racing’s Triple Crown.

Orb, with jockey Joel Rosario aboard, would become the 34th horse to capture the Derby and Preakness with a win at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore on May 18. Eleven went on to win the Triple Crown title with a victory at the Belmont Stakes, held this year on June 8 in New York.

“Nothing we can do about it,” Orb’s trainer, Shug McGaughey, said yesterday in a televised interview when asked about being on the rail. “It’s just a nine-horse field. The horses will spread themselves out.”

Nine horses have won the Preakness after leaving from the first gate, the last being Tabasco Cat in 1994.

“Joel will know what to do,” McGaughey said. “He’s always said it’s the shortest way around.”

Mylute, ridden by Rosie Napravnik, was made the second favorite at 5-1 and will leave from the fifth post position. Departing is 6-1 from the fourth gate and Goldencents is next at 8-1, leaving the gate next to Orb.

“I feel like the Red Wings,” Goldencents trainer Doug O’Neill, who won last year’s Preakness with I’ll Have Another, said in a reference to Detroit’s National Hockey League team, which is in the second round of the playoffs. “We’re on to the next round.”

Goldencents, whose owners include University of Louisville basketball coach Rick Pitino, finished 17th in the Derby at Churchill Downs on May 4.

Carulli’s Finale

D. Wayne Lukas, who has won the Preakness five times, has trained one-third of the field. Will Take Charge was given 12-1 odds, followed by Oxbow at 15-1 and Titletown at 30-1, the longshot in the field.

“I think there is a chance Oxbow drew a post position that is good for him,” said Lukas, whose horse finished sixth in the Derby.

Pimlico handicapper Frank Carulli assigned his final odds for the Preakness. He will be leaving the job he has had since 2002 for Las Vegas.

PP Horse            Jockey              Trainer             Odds
1  Orb              Joel Rosario        Shug McGaughey       1-1
2  Goldencents      Kevin Krigger       Doug O’Neill         8-1
3  Titletown        Julian Leparoux     D. Wayne Lukas      30-1
4  Departing        Brian Hernandez Jr. Albert Stall Jr.     6-1
5  Mylute           Rosie Napravnik     Tom Amoss            5-1
6  Oxbow            Gary Stevens        D. Wayne Lukas      15-1
7  Will Take Charge Mike Smith          D. Wayne Lukas      12-1
8  Govenor Charlie  Martin Garcia       Bob Baffert         12-1
9  Itsmyluckyday    John Velazquez      Eddie Plesa Jr.     10-1
Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.