Bruschi Joins Pace Among 14 to Be Named to College Football Hall

Tedy Bruschi, Orlando Pace, Danny Wuerffel and Tommie Frazier were among 14 people elected to college football’s Hall of Fame.

Former Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne, North Carolina State tailback Ted Brown, Texas defensive back Jerry Gray, Kentucky end Steve Meilinger, Oklahoma linebacker Rod Shoate, Michigan State linebacker Percy Snow and Baylor quarterback Don Trull also were elected, the National Football Foundation said in a news release.

The group, choosing players from college football’s top division, announced yesterday that former Miami quarterback Vinny Testaverde also will be enshrined.

The 12 players will join two coaches -- Wayne Hardin, who led Navy and Temple, and Bill McCartney, who was at Colorado from 1982-94 -- for the Dec. 10 induction at the 56th National Football Foundation awards dinner in New York.

Bruschi, who played linebacker for the National Football League’s New England Patriots from 1996 to 2008, was a defensive end for the University of Arizona from 1992 to 1995, ending his college career with 52 sacks to tie for the all-time lead at the top level of the sport.

Pace played offensive tackle at Ohio State University from 1994 to 1996 and was a two-time unanimous All-American. He was the first pick in the 1997 NFL draft, for the St. Louis Rams.

Wuerffel, a quarterback, won the Heisman Trophy, given to college football’s top player, in 1996 while leading the University of Florida to a national championship.

Frazier, also a quarterback, helped the University of Nebraska to national titles in 1994 and 1995, finishing his college career with a 33-3 record as a starter.

Testaverde and Dayne also won Heismans, while seven of those elected were named first-team All-Americans in multiple years.

Players must have been recognized as first-team All-Americans to become eligible. They can be elected 10 years after completing college play and their “post football record as a citizen is also weighed,” according to the National Football Foundation.