Ajax Takes Dutch League for 32nd Time and Third Consecutive Year

Ajax won the Dutch soccer league for a record-extending 32nd time today with a 5-0 home victory over the Eredivisie’s bottom team, Willem II.

Kolbeinn Sigthorsson and Christian Eriksen put Amsterdam-based Ajax 2-0 up by halftime and the team added goals by Viktor Fischer, Siem de Jong and Danny Hoesen after the break.

Ajax has 73 points, four more than second-placed PSV Eindhoven with one game left. PSV had a 4-2 home win over NEC while Feyenoord lost 2-0 at ADO Den Haag and has 66 points.

Coach Frank de Boer has now won three consecutive titles with Ajax, a feat previously achieved only by Rinus Michels and Louis van Gaal. The title means Ajax clinches a place in Europe’s elite Champions League.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.