Yale Beats No. 1 Quinnipiac to Win First NCAA Ice Hockey Title

No. 15 Yale University shut out top-seeded Quinnipiac University 4-0 to win its first national men’s college ice hockey title.

After a scoreless first period, Clinton Bourbonais gave the Bulldogs (22-12-3) a 1-0 lead last night with four seconds left in the second period at Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh. Charles Orzetti, Andrew Miller and Jesse Root each contributed goals in the third period.

“They were a very tough opponent, but tonight was our turn,” said Yale’s Keith Allain, who coaches the nation’s oldest hockey program.

The Bulldogs, with a hockey history dating back to 1896, had made the National Collegiate Athletic Association tournament only twice before Allain took over in 2006.

Yale defeated second-seeded Minnesota and No. 1 North Dakota to make the quarterfinals for the first time since 1952. The Bulldogs topped the No. 2 University of Massachusetts-Lowell 3-2 in overtime in the semifinals.

Yale was the first ECAC ice hockey team to win the title since Harvard in 1989. Quinnipiac (30-8-5) became the first ECAC team to be runner-up since Colgate in 1990.

“I think it’s difficult to beat anyone in college hockey,” Miller said during a press conference. “Night-in and night-out, there is so much parity. In the NCAA tournament, anybody can beat anybody and whoever has the hottest goalie and plays the best team game wins. I think we did that for the last four games.”

Quinnipiac beat Yale in three previous meetings this season.

“I thought we were the best team in college hockey for the season,” Quinnipiac coach Rand Pecknold said. “Unfortunately, we didn’t prove it tonight.”

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.