David Wright Becomes 4th Captain in N.Y. Mets’ 51-Year History

Third baseman David Wright was named the fourth captain in the New York Mets’ 51-year history.

Wright, 30, joins first baseman Keith Hernandez (1987-89), catcher Gary Carter (1988-1989) and pitcher John Franco (2001-2004) as the Mets’ only captains since their inaugural season in 1962, the Major League Baseball team announced in an e-mailed release.

“One of the proudest days of my career,” Wright said. “I try to lead by example. I’m crazy about the direction we are headed.”

Six-time All-Star Wright said yesterday on the Mets’ Twitter account that he and the team agreed he won’t wear a “C” on his jersey.

The Mets were 78-88 last year, their fourth consecutive season with a losing record, and have made the playoffs once in 12 seasons.

In nine seasons with the Mets, Wright has hit .301 with 790 runs scored, 204 home runs and 818 runs batted in.

In December Wright signed an eight-year contract that will keep him with the club through the 2020 season.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.