European Soccer Championships to Be Played in 13 Cities in 2020

The European soccer championships will be played in 13 different cities in 2020, UEFA, the sport’s regional governing body, said.

The games will be split into 13 packages, with 12 including three group matches and one in the knockout stage, with the remaining package allowing the successful bidder to host the semifinals and finals, UEFA said today in an e-mailed statement.

Each soccer association can have two bids, one for the regular games and one for the finals. Construction of new stadiums must start by 2016 or the award could be retracted and the game moved, UEFA said.

Hosting a set of games won’t automatically qualify a team for the tournament, the body said.

Poland and Ukraine co-hosted the last event, and France will hold the 2016 tournament, which will increase to 24 teams. The change is the most radical in the Euros’ 52-year history. The competition began in 1960 with four teams in France before growing to eight and then 16 countries. UEFA said it made 1.3 billion euros ($1.8 billion) from the most recent edition of the quadrennial tournament.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.