Parcells, Strahan Headline Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists

Super Bowl-winning coach Bill Parcells and former defensive end Michael Strahan of the New York Giants are among 15 modern-era finalists for this year’s class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Nominees need at least 80 percent of the vote from the 46-member selection committee, which will meet in New Orleans on Feb. 2, a day before the Super Bowl. The results will be announced that day at 5:30 p.m. New York time, according to a statement on the Canton, Ohio, Hall’s website.

Between four and seven of the finalists will be inducted under Hall of Fame ground rules.

Parcells, 71, coached the Giants (1983-90), the New England Patriots (1993-96), the New York Jets (1997-99) and the Dallas Cowboys (2003-06). He won Super Bowls with the Giants after the 1986 and 1990 seasons.

He was a finalist in 2001 and 2002 after he retired as coach of the Jets, and again last season. Former players including Curtis Martin and Phil Simms voiced displeasure last year when the coach wasn’t elected.

Strahan, 41, retired after the 2007 season with 141 1/2 career sacks, including a season-record 22 1/2 in 2001. A seven-time Pro Bowl selection, he spent his entire 15-year career with the Giants, forcing 24 fumbles, recording 854 tackles and helping the team to a Super Bowl victory in his final season.

The other finalists for the 51st Hall of Fame class include running back Jerome Bettis; wide receivers Tim Brown, Cris Carter and Andre Reed; offensive linemen Larry Allen and Jonathan Ogden; and defensive tackle Warren Sapp.

The rest of the list has defensive tackle Curley Culp and linebacker Dave Robinson as senior nominees; offensive lineman Will Shields; cornerback Aeneas Williams; defensive ends Kevin Greene and Charles Haley; and former team owners Art Modell, who died in September, and Edward DeBartolo Jr.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.