The data trail of the Fake me at Demo

I received an e-mail from the company that oversaw registration at the Demo conference—where a fake Steve Baker circulated under my name. From the looks of things, he set up a BusinessWeektech domain. And he gave a phone number that connects to an answering service where a foreign-accented voice pronounces my/his name. To top it off, according to Bill Baker, a commenter on the previous post, this imposter even borrowed $20 in my name.

Question: Is this just of anecdotal interest, or a sign of a more troubling trend? Anything I (or BW) should do?

I’ll paste the domain registration data about this person under the fold. Don’t want to waste space with it. But if someone sees interesting facts or leads from it, please enlighten me.

Following is the domain registration info for It was apparently registered through a company called "One and One," which is owned by a European company, Schlund+Partner. I got it from Network Solutions' "whois" database.

% The data in the WHOIS database of Schlund+Partner AG is provided by % Schlund+Partner for information purposes, and to assist persons in % obtaining information about or related to a domain name registration % record. Schlund+Partner does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting % a WHOIS query, you agree that you will use this data only for lawful % purposes and that, under no circumstances, you will use this data to % (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission by e-mail, % telephone, or facsimile of mass, unsolicited, commercial advertising % or solicitations to entities other than the data recipient's own % existing customers; or % (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that send queries % or data to the systems of any Registry Operator or ICANN-Accredited % registrar, except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or % modify existing registrations. % Schlund+Partner reserves the right to modify these terms at any time. % By submitting this query, you agree to abide by this policy.

domain: BUSINESSWEEKTECH.COM created: 27-Sep-2006 last-changed: 27-Sep-2006 registration-expiration: 27-Sep-2007

nserver: nserver:


registrant-firstname: Oneandone registrant-lastname: Private Registration registrant-organization: 1&1 Internet, Inc. - registrant-street1: 701 Lee Road, Suite 300 registrant-street2: ATTN: registrant-pcode: 19087 registrant-state: PA registrant-city: Chesterbrook registrant-ccode: US registrant-phone: +1.8772064254 registrant-email:

admin-c-firstname: Oneandone admin-c-lastname: Private Registration admin-c-organization: 1&1 Internet, Inc. - admin-c-street1: 701 Lee Road, Suite 300 admin-c-street2: ATTN: admin-c-pcode: 19087 admin-c-state: PA admin-c-city: Chesterbrook admin-c-ccode: US admin-c-phone: +1.8772064254 admin-c-email:

tech-c-firstname: Oneandone tech-c-lastname: Private Registration tech-c-organization: 1&1 Internet, Inc. - tech-c-street1: 701 Lee Road, Suite 300 tech-c-street2: ATTN: tech-c-pcode: 19087 tech-c-state: PA tech-c-city: Chesterbrook tech-c-ccode: US tech-c-phone: +1.8772064254 tech-c-email:

bill-c-firstname: Oneandone bill-c-lastname: Private Registration bill-c-organization: 1&1 Internet, Inc. - bill-c-street1: 701 Lee Road, Suite 300 bill-c-street2: ATTN: bill-c-pcode: 19087 bill-c-state: PA bill-c-city: Chesterbrook bill-c-ccode: US bill-c-phone: +1.8772064254 bill-c-email:

% See for information about Schlund+Partner AG

The previous information has been obtained either directly from the registrant or a registrar of the domain name other than Network Solutions. Network Solutions, therefore, does not guarantee its accuracy or completeness.

    Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.