Bill Ford....Executive of the Year?

So this came into my e-mail box: The 2006 Automotive Industry Executive of the Year award will be presented to William Clay Ford, Jr., chairman of the board and chief executive officer, Ford Motor Company at an invitation-only luncheon at the Detroit Athletic Club (DAC) on April 5. This award has recognized excellence in automotive leadership from OEM executives since 1964, with a list of past winners that includes Dieter Zetsche, Rick Wagoner, Henry Ford II, Robert Eaton, Thomas Stallkamp, Roger Smith, Harold E. Poling, Lee Iacocca and John DeLorean. This award recognizes the insightful leadership Bill Ford has shown in committing Ford Motor Company to rebuilding long-term, trusting relationships with suppliers, as well as his courage in continuing to make tough decisions to secure his company’s future,” said Robert Djurovic, DNV Certification’s director of automotive services-North America, and chairman of the nominating committee.”

I don’t want to sound like I’m kicking Bill Ford when he’s down. he has great potential, and he is a heckuva nice guy to have a beer with. But what the heck is this? He has a long way to go before he picks up any awards for “courage” “tough decisions” and “leadership.” Of course…maybe it was just his turn.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal.