The Eastern Caribbean Dollar Got There First

We write to correct the assertion in "It will be a bumpy ride" (European Business, May 18) that no group of countries or regions has tried to issue a currency without formal political unity. As one of three multistate central banks in the world, the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) is the monetary authority for the six sovereign states of Antigua & Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, and also for the two British dependencies of Anguilla and Montserrat.

To continue reading this article you must be a Bloomberg Professional Service Subscriber.