Money Politics

House Democrats have been less-than-enthusiastic supporters of any campaign finance reform that would seriously crimp the role of political-action committees. A list of 1992's top PAC recipients, compiled by the newsletter Political Hotline shows why. Nine of the top 10 PAC-men are Democrats. And four members of the House leadership--Majority Leader Richard A. Gephardt (Mo.), Whip David E. Bonior (Mich.), Caucus Chair Steny H. Hoyer (Md.,) and campaign committee chief Vic Fazio (Calif.)--shared $4 million in contributions. The lone Republican making the Top 10 was Minority Whip Newt Gingrich of Georgia, who got $653,712 and placed 10th. No.1 Gephardt got $1.2 million.