Photograph by Jody Rogac for Bloomberg Businessweek

Women's Work Style Embraces Sportswear This Summer

  1. Sporty Sportswear
    1

    Sporty Sportswear

    This season’s work wear borrows from the athletic field.

    Market editor and stylist: Shibon Kennedy; Photography by Jody Rogac for Bloomberg Businessweek; Set design: Cooper Vasquez; Hair and makeup: Kyla Malone; Models, from left: Veronica Montano (Major); Gabrielle Covers (major); Valery Kuklishyna (Re:Quest); Sharlene Radlein (Major); Katrina Topacio (Major)

    Photograph by Jody Rogac for Bloomberg Businessweek
  2. Jersey Dress
    2

    Jersey Dress

    Skip jewelry, which clashes with sporty looks, unless you typically wear a watch.

    A shorter, bolder shift dress calls for chunky wedges or heels, not stilettos.

    Prada jersey dress $1,790; prada.com. Dolce Vita Kelly wedges $149; dolcevita.com. Nixon Kensington watch $125; saksfifthavenue.com.

    Photograph by Jody Rogac for Bloomberg Businessweek
  3. Work Shorts
    3

    Work Shorts

    Shorts work best if you’re petite. Balance with layers on top, and choose sensible sandals.

    Sportmax Lettera satin-leather shorts $1,090; 212 674-1817. H&M tuxedo jacket $49.95; hm.com. Club Monaco Fallon leather-trim shirt $139.95; clubmonaco.com. Loeffler Randall Gilda sandals $250; loefflerrandall.com.

    Photograph by Jody Rogac for Bloomberg Businessweek
  4. Pleated Skirt
    4

    Pleated Skirt

    An excuse not to wash your hair: Ponytails are a natural fit with all these pieces.

    A skirt that hits at the knee and flares out creates the most flattering shape. Hem to that length if necessary.

    Jil Sander navy pleated skirt $880; jilsander.com. Bally silk-viscose turtleneck $850; 212 751-9082. Rupert Sanderson Elba heels $585; rupertsanderson.com.

    Photograph by Jody Rogac for Bloomberg Businessweek
  5. T-Shirt and Skirt
    5

    T-Shirt and Skirt

    A T-shirt at work? Just keep a light jacket zipped up for warmth and coverage.

    Once reserved for wet suits, neoprene is comfortable, holds its shape, and won’t wrinkle.

    Reed Krakoff twill track jacket $1,790; reedkrakoff.com. T by Alexander Wang cotton boxy tee $275; alexanderwang.com. Tommy Hilfiger neoprene skirt $649; 212 223-1824. Dieppa Restrepo Gaston patent loafers $245; diepparestrepo.com.

    Photograph by Jody Rogac for Bloomberg Businessweek
  6. Athletic Pants
    6

    Athletic Pants

    There’s a fine line between track pants and tuxedo ones. Nail the trend with a looser fit.

    Ports 1961 transparent jersey bomber jacket $950; 917 475-1022. Wes Gordon cotton cashmere knit pullover $450; bergdorfgoodman.com. Vince colorblock trousers $275; vince.com. Schutz purple suede pumps $200; 212 257-4366.

    Photograph by Jody Rogac for Bloomberg Businessweek