• Brazil rate decision, World Bank outlook, Valeant earnings
  • Alphabet annual meeting, U.S. consumer sentiment, CFA exams

U.S. Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen may give investors some clues to her thinking about the economy when she speaks Monday ahead of policy-makers’ mid-month meeting. Follow the TOPLive blog for real-time coverage here.

The Labor Department will offer more insight on growth with the so-called JOLTS report, the Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey. Revised productivity figures and data on consumer credit, mortgage applications and consumer sentiment also are due in the coming week.

European Central Bank President Mario Draghi highlights the Brussels Economic Forum. The World Bank issues its economic outlook for 2016.

Valeant Pharmaceuticals International Inc., under scrutiny for accounting and pricing practices, is among companies reporting earnings.

California is the biggest prize among six states holding primaries or caucuses as Hillary Clinton nears the total she needs to clinch the Democratic presidential nomination.

Hong Kong marks the anniversary of the Tiananmen Square massacre.

The championship finals continue in the National Basketball Association and National Hockey League.

The French Open tennis tournament concludes in Paris, and the Jack Nicklaus Memorial Golf Tournament awards its champion’s trophy in Ohio.

Andy Murray celebrates after win at French Open
Andy Murray celebrates after win at French Open
PHILIPPE LOPEZ/AFP/Getty Images

Saturday, June 4

-U.S. Secretary of Defense Ashton Carter will address the 15th Shangri-La Dialogue on the second day of
the three-day event in Singapore.

-Hong Kong holds the world’s biggest commemoration of the 1989 Tiananmen Square massacre amid rising tensions over China’s growing political and economic control. Rally starts at 18:00 in Hong Kong (6:00 EDT).

-Merck & Co. and Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. are among companies presenting clinical-trial data at the American Society of Clinical Oncology meeting. ASCO’s Chicago event runs through June 7 and will draw 30,000 oncology professionals.

-U.S. Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland President Loretta Mester speaks on macro and financial stability at the Sveriges Riksbank Conference at 09:00 local time in Stockholm (03:00 EDT).

-The Chartered Financial Analyst exam is given at test centers around the world by the CFA Institute. More than 170,000 people plan to sit for the exam’s three levels.

-Polish opposition parties plan to resume nationwide protests against the government.

-Bank of Canada Governor Stephen Poloz lectures at an event sponsored by the Canadian Economics Association, followed by a press conference at 14:15. In Ottawa at 12:55 EDT.

-Democrats in the U.S. Virgin Islands hold their presidential caucus.

-The French Open, the second Grand Slam tennis event of 2016, finishes in Paris this weekend. Click here for the tournament schedule. Through June 5.

-The Jack Nicklaus Memorial Golf Tournament, with an $8.5 million purse, runs through Sunday at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio. The field includes Jordan Spieth and Rory McIlroy.

-ECONOMY: Colombia inflation (May).

Sunday, June 5

-The Greek parliament votes on changes required by creditors to unlock the release of the country’s next bailout tranche. Timing in Athens to be determined.

-Peruvians vote in the second round of the presidential election, with the latest polls showing Keiko Fujimori ahead of Pedro Pablo Kuczynski. Voting ends at 15:00 EDT when exit polls will be released. First official results are expected about 20:00.

-Mexico holds local and state elections, mostly in areas controlled by the ruling Institutional Revolutionary Party. 

-Puerto Rico holds a Democratic presidential primary.

-Swiss voters decide on initiatives to establish basic income and to limit executive pay at state-controlled companies. Polls suggest the income measure will be rejected, while the result on the so-called Pro Service Public measure will be close. Voting ends at noon local time (06:00 EST).

-Norway Prime Minister Erna Solberg speaks to her ruling Conservative Party conference in Oslo at 14:00 (08:00 EDT).

ECONOMY: Egypt purchasing managers (May).

Monday, June 6

-The U.S. and China will discuss economic cooperation, cyber security and tension in the South China Sea when Treasury Secretary Jacob Lew and Secretary of State John Kerry visit Beijing. The U.S.-China Climate Forum runs concurrently. Through June 7.

-U.S. Federal Reserve of Boston President Eric Rosengren gives the keynote address at the Helsinki Central Banking Conference. 09:15 local time in Helsinki (02:15 EDT). Through June 7.

-U.S. Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen will address the World Affairs Council of Philadelphia. 12:30 EDT in Philadelphia.

-Mexico central bank governor Agustin Carstens, Finance Minister Luis Videgaray and Pemex Chief Executive Officer Jose Antonio Gonzalez Anaya are among speakers at BBVA Bancomer SA’s 2016 national directors meeting. Starts 09:00 in Mexico City (10:00 EDT).

-Austria central bank’s economic outlook is presented by Governor Ewald Nowotny, also a member of the European Central Bank’s governing council. 10:00 in Vienna (04:00 EDT).

-The International Atomic Energy Agency’s board convenes its quarterly meeting and may discuss verification of the Iran nuclear accord. Director General Yukiya Amano holds a news briefing at 14:00 in Vienna (08:00 EDT).

-The U.K. House of Commons discusses amendments to a bill that would allow the bulk retention of communications data for surveillance by law-enforcement and intelligence agencies. Home Secretary Theresa May speaks to lawmakers about 15:30 in London (10:30 EDT), with a final vote later in the day.

-Argentina is set for its first local IPO since 2011, with confectioner Havanna looking to raise 280 million pesos ($20 million) in a share sale.

-U.S. government bond auctions, Fed debt purchases. Click here for the schedule.

-U.S. initial public stock offerings. Click here for the schedule.

-CENTRAL BANKS: Turkey central bank’s May effective exchange rate, Bank of Israel minutes.

-ECONOMY: Euro area retail PMI (May), Taiwan foreign reserves (May).

-EARNINGS: Sao Martinho SA, Telkom SA SOC Ltd.

-ENERGY/COMMODITIES: U.S. Department of Agriculture crops data (weekly).

Tuesday, June 7

-U.S. presidential primaries and caucuses held in California, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota (Democrats only) and South Dakota.

-U.S. Transportation Security Administration Administrator Peter Neffenger appears with Inspector General John Roth before the Senate Homeland Security Committee to discuss delays at screening lines and threats to aviation. 10:00 EDT in Washington.

-Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi will meet with President Barack Obama in Washington to discuss trade, energy, environment and defense. Modi will also address a joint session of Congress. Through June 8.

-U.S. House Financial Services Committee Chairman Jeb Hensarling will give details about the Republican plan to replace the Dodd-Frank Act in a speech to the Economic Club of New York. 07:30 EDT in New York City.

-European Central Bank Member of the Supervisory Board Ignazio Angeloni and Jose Vinals, director of the monetary and capital markets department of the International Monetary Fund, will speak on a panel organized by the European American Chamber of Commerce. In New York City at 11:25.

-Jozef Makuch, a European Central Bank governing council member and Slovakia central bank governor, holds a news conference on revised economic forecasts. 13:00 in Bratislava (07:00 EDT).

-Dutch central bank Governor Klaas Knot addresses parliament at 17:00 in The Hague (11:00 EDT).

-U.K. Prime Minister David Cameron makes the case to stay in the European Union, and U.K. Independence Party leader Nigel Farage argues for leaving during an ITV program ahead of the June 23 referendum. Starts 21:00 in London (16:00 EDT). On Thursday, ITV will broadcast a pro- and anti-Brexit debate at 20:00 in London (15:00 EDT).

-The World Bank issues its Global Economic Prospects 2016 report, following a January projection for 2.9 percent global growth this year. 16:01 EDT from Washington.

-Harbor’s 9th Aluminum Outlook Summit, the largest gathering of its kind in the Americas, begins in Chicago. Speakers include executives from Rio Tinto Plc, Emirates Global Aluminum PJSC and Boeing Co. Through June 9.

-Goldman Sachs Group Inc. holds its annual health investors meeting in Rancho Palos Verdes, California. Presenters to include Aetna, J&J, AbbVie and Express Scripts. List of attendees here. Through June 9.

-Jefferies Group LLC’s investment bank holds its annual health-care conference in New York. List of attendees here. Through June 10.

-CENTRAL BANKS: Argentina Central Bank monthly monetary report, Australia rate decision.

-ECONOMY: U.S. productivity and costs (1Q, revisions), U.S. consumer credit (April), China foreign reserves (May), Euro-area GDP (1Q), German industrial production (April), Halifax U.K. house prices (May), Hong Kong foreign reserves (May), Taiwan CPI (May), Taiwan imports, exports, trade balance (May), South Africa gross and net reserves (May), South Africa business confidence (May), Israel foreign currency balance (May).

-EARNINGS: Valeant Pharmaceuticals International Inc., Michaels Cos Inc., Lukoil PJSC (E).

-ENERGY/COMMODITIES: U.S. EIA Short-Term Energy Outlook (monthly).

Wednesday, June 8

-The Labor Department will report on U.S. job openings for April at 10:00 in Washington. March’s total was the second-highest on record.

-Brazil’s central bank probably will keep its key interest rate at a nine-year high of 14.25 percent for a seventh straight meeting. 19:00 in Brasilia (18:00 EDT).

-Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Finance Minister Bill Morneau are keynote speakers at the Economist’s Canada Summit. Begins at 08:30 EDT in Toronto.

-Alphabet Inc. holds its annual meeting at Google headquarters. The live webcast will be available here. In Mountain View, California, at 09:00 local time (12:00 EDT).

-German Chancellor Angela Merkel speaks on trans-Atlantic relations at a conference of her Christian Democratic Union party. 17:00 in Berlin (11:00 EDT).

-Ardo Hansson, head of Estonia’s central bank, will discuss the economy after the release of new forecasts. 11:00 in Tallinn (04:00 EDT).

-Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi to present 2016-17 budgets.

-The Mexico Petroleum Congress in Monterrey features speeches by Mexico Energy Minister Pedro Joaquin Coldwell and Pemex CEO Jose Antonio Gonzalez Anaya. Through June 11.

-CENTRAL BANKS: Brazil rate decision, Portugal updates forecasts.

-ECONOMY: U.S. MBA mortgage applications (weekly), Brazil IPCA inflation (May), Chile inflation (May), China imports, exports, trade balance (May), Japan current account (April), Japan final reading of GDP (1Q), Turkey industrial production (April), U.K. industrial production (April), South Africa GDP (1Q).

-EARNINGS: Dollarama Inc., Lululemon Athletica Inc., Dominion Diamond Corp., Brown-Forman Corp.

-ENERGY/COMMODITIES: Bloomberg survey of analysts’ expectations on natural gas volume (weekly), U.S. EIA weekly crude oil inventory report. (Follow the TOPLive blog for real-time coverage here.)

Thursday, June 9

-Bank of Canada Governor Stephen Poloz will hold a news conference to discuss the semi-annual Financial System Review. 10:30 in Ottawa.

-European Central Bank President Mario Draghi opens the Brussels Economic Forum, which begins at 08:45 in Brussels (02:45 EDT). Other scheduled participants include ECB Governing Council member Francois Villeroy de Galhau and European Stability Mechanism CEO Klaus Regling.

-Bank of Finland Governor Erkki Liikanen speaks to reporters on the economic outlook. 11:00 in Helsinki (04:00 EDT).

-European Union home-affairs ministers begin a two-day meeting to discuss Europe’s migration crisis and visa liberalization for Turkey. In Luxembourg through June 10.

-AMC Networks Inc. CEO Josh Sapan, Viacom Inc. CEO Philippe Dauman and Starz CEO Chris Albrecht are among the speakers at the Gabelli Movie & Entertainment Conference in New York City.

-Finance ministers gather for Asia-Europe Meeting in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia. Through June 10.

-CENTRAL BANKS: Bank of Canada financial system review, rate decisions in Peru and New Zealand, Bank of Korea policy board meeting.

-ECONOMY: U.S. jobless claims (weekly), U.S. Bloomberg consumer comfort (weekly), U.S. wholesale inventories (April), U.S. household change in net worth (1Q), Germany exports and imports (April), France non-farm payrolls (1Q), U.K. RICS house price balance (May), U.K. trade balance (April), Mexico inflation (May), China CPI, PPI (May), South Africa manufacturing production (April), South Africa mining production (April), Japan machine orders (April).

-EARNINGS: Hudson’s Bay Co., BRP Inc., JM Smucker Co., Auto Trader Group Plc, Remy Cointreau SA.

-ENERGY/COMMODITIES: Bloomberg survey of analysts’ expectations on U.S. natural gas prices (weekly), U.S. Energy Information Administration natural gas inventory report (weekly).

Friday, June 10

-U.S. consumer sentiment probably climbed in June as Americans’ views of their finances hovered close to the decade-high level reached in May. The University of Michigan’s preliminary index will be issued at 10:00 in Washington.

-German Chancellor Angela Merkel and Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier speak on the European Union’s future at a convention of German family-owned companies. 10:45 in Berlin (04:45 EDT).

-ECONOMY: Canada jobs report (May), U.S. monthly budget statement (May), Mexico industrial production (April), China aggregate financing, new yuan loans, M2 money supply (May), Turkey current-account deficit (April) and GDP (1Q), Italy industrial production (April), France industrial production (April).

-ENERGY: Baker Hughes U.S. oil-and-gas rig count (weekly), U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission futures and options positions for oil and commitments of traders 
reports (weekly), U.S. Department of Agriculture’s world agriculture supply and demand (monthly).

-SOVEREIGN RATING UPDATES: Bahrain (S&P), European Financial Stability Facility (Fitch & Moody’s), European Stability Mechanism (Fitch), Estonia (S&P), France (Fitch), Greece (DBRS), Italy (Moody’s), Ivory Coast (Fitch), Latvia (Moody’s), Poland (DBRS), Ukraine (S&P), U.K. (Fitch).

Saturday, June 11

-The last leg of thoroughbred racing’s Triple Crown is the 148th running of the Belmont Stakes in Elmont, New York. Post time is approximately 18:32 EDT; purse is $1.5 million.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE