Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

World Cup Records Fall as Germany Advances to Eighth Final

Germany Scores
Germany's forward Thomas Mueller, center, celebrates with teammates after scoring during the semi-final World Cup match between Brazil and Germany at the Mineirao Stadium in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, on July 8, 2014. Photographer: Adrian Dennis/AFP via Getty Images

As Germany was advancing, World Cup records were falling.

The three-time champion’s 7-1 defeat of host Brazil in a semifinal yesterday set marks for team and individual scoring. Here are some of them:

Brazilian Incompetence: ======================= * The defeat was Brazil’s worst. * The team was the first to concede seven goals in a knockout match in a World Cup. * It was the first time Brazil conceded five goals in a World Cup match since 1938, when it beat Poland 6-5. * The loss is the host’s biggest since a 6-0 defeat against Uruguay in the Copa America in 1920. * It was Brazil’s first competitive defeat in a home match in 64 games, since a 3-1 loss to Peru in 1975.

German Brilliance: ================= * Germany became the first team to score seven times in a World Cup semifinal. * Germany surpassed Brazil for the most goals scored by a team, with 223, in tournament history. * With Germany’s second goal, Miroslav Klose set the record for World Cup career goals with 16, surpassing retired Brazil forward Ronaldo. * Thomas Mueller is the third player, after Klose and Teofilo Cubillas, to score five or more goals in two different World Cups. * Germany will play in its record eighth World Cup final on July 13.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.