Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Osborne Says Another Star Wars Movie to Be Filmed in Britain

Electronic Arts Gets ‘Star Wars’ Video-Game License From Disney
Yoda in a still from the movie Star Wars: Episode III-Revenge of the Sith, 2005. Photographer: Industrial Light & Magic/Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation via Everett Collection

Another Star Wars movie will be filmed in Britain next year, U.K. Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne said as he visited the set of Star Wars: Episode VII today.

The new stand-alone Star Wars movie, to be directed by Gareth Edwards and written by Gary Whitta, will be filmed at the Pinewood Studios, near London, according to an e-mailed statement from the Treasury. Star Wars: Episode VII is being filmed in the U.K.

“This will mean more jobs and more investment,” Osborne said. “I have been determined that we back our brilliant creative industries which is why we have invested in skills and training as well as providing tax relief for films, high-end TV, animation, video games and regional theater.”

Osborne has increased tax relief for higher-budget films to encourage bigger-budget productions to choose the U.K. as a location. Films made in Britain get 25 percent tax relief on the first 20 million pounds ($33 million) of expenditure, and 20 percent after that.

Walt Disney Co., which owns Lucasfilm, said on May 22 that a stand-alone, non-numbered Star Wars film would be released on Dec. 16, 2016.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.