Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Obama to Award Belated Medals of Honor to Veterans of Past Wars

Twenty-four U.S. Army veterans from wars as long ago as World War II, many of them Hispanic or Jewish, will receive the Medal of Honor after a review determined they were improperly denied the award.

The veterans all previously had been given the Distinguished Service Cross, the second-highest military award, and they are being upgraded as the result of a review mandated by the 2002 Defense Authorization Act, according to the White House. President Barack Obama will bestow the medals, most of them posthumously, on March 18.

The 2002 law required a review of records of Jewish and Hispanic veterans of World War II, the Korean War and the Vietnam War to determine whether they were denied the top military honor because of prejudice. Several veterans who are of either Jewish or Hispanic descent were found to merit the Medal of Honor as well.

Three of the Vietnam War veterans are still alive to received the award, according to the White House.

Link for White House list, click here.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.