Bloomberg the Company

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000

Follow Us

Industry Products

Orioles, Royals Each Have Three MLB Gold Glove Award Winners

Don't Miss Out —
Follow us on:

Oct. 30 (Bloomberg) -- Third baseman Manny Machado, shortstop J.J. Hardy and center fielder Adam Jones won Gold Glove Awards for the Baltimore Orioles, who committed a Major League Baseball record-low 54 errors in the regular season.

Each of the teams playing in the World Series had two Gold Glove winners -- catcher Yadier Molina and pitcher Adam Wainwright for the St. Louis Cardinals, and outfielder Shane Victorino and second baseman Dustin Pedroia for the Boston Red Sox.

The Orioles became the first club since the 2003-04 Cardinals with at least three Gold Glove winners in consecutive seasons. The Kansas City Royals also had three winners announced last night with catcher Salvador Perez, first baseman Eric Hosmer and left fielder Alex Gordon.

“It’s a tremendous honor to be in such an elite league with the best competitors all over the planet,” Hosmer said in a statement. “Really, to win any type of award, especially the Rawlings Gold Glove Award, is a tremendous honor.”

Machado, Hosmer, Perez and Atlanta Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons were among the eight first-time winners. Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado was the 10th rookie to win the award and the first since outfielder Ichiro Suzuki in 2001 for the Seattle Mariners.

Molina received his sixth straight Gold Glove. Cincinnati Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips and Victorino got their fourth.

The Gold Glove Awards had been decided by voting among major league managers and coaches until this year, when the Society for American Baseball Research incorporated sabermetrics as a component that represented about 25 percent of the votes.

                  2013 Gold Glove Award Winners

Position       American League          National League

Catcher        Salvador Perez, KC       Yadier Molina, STL
First baseman  Eric Hosmer, KC          Paul Goldschmidt, ARI
Second baseman Dustin Pedroia, BOS      Brandon Phillips, CIN
Shortstop      J.J. Hardy, BAL          Andrelton Simmons, ATL
Third baseman  Manny Machado, BAL       Nolan Arenado, COL
Left fielder   Alex Gordon, KC          Carlos Gonzalez, COL
Center fielder Adam Jones, BAL          Carlos Gomez, MIL
Right fielder  Shane Victorino, BOS     Gerardo Parra, ARI
Pitcher        R.A. Dickey, TOR         Adam Wainwright, STL

To contact the reporter on this story: Nancy Kercheval in Washington at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.