Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Kenya’s Dennis Kimetto Sets Record in Winning Chicago Marathon

Marathon Runner Dennis Kimetto
Marathon runner Dennis Kimetto of Kenya wins the Chicago Marathon on October 13, 2013. Photographer: David Banks/Getty Images

Dennis Kimetto set a course record for the Chicago Marathon men’s race, while fellow Kenyan Rita Jeptoo was the women’s winner in the first 26.2-mile road race through a major U.S. city since April’s Boston bombings.

Kimetto, who won the Tokyo marathon in February, ran the 42-kilometer course in 2 hours, 3 minutes, 45 seconds, shaving 53 seconds off the mark set a year ago by Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia. Kimetto finished seven seconds ahead of Emmanuel Mutai (2:03:52), while Sammy Kitwara was third (2:05:16) to complete a sweep of the top three places for Kenyan runners.

Jeptoo, who won the Boston marathon in April, finished in 2:19:57. Jemima Sumgong Jelegat, also of Kenya, was second (2:20:48), with Maria Konovalova of Russia third (2:22:46).

A 30-second silence preceded the start to honor the victims of the April 15 Boston bombings. Dzhokhar Tsarnaev may face the death penalty if he’s convicted of killing three marathon spectators and injuring 260 others in the first deadly terrorist bombing in the U.S. since Sept. 11, 2001. A date hasn’t been set for the 20-year-old naturalized American citizen’s trial.

Each of the winners earned $100,000, with Kimetto receiving an additional $75,000 for setting a course record and Jeptoo getting a $40,000 bonus for finishing under 2:20:00.

Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa won the male wheelchair division with a time of 1:30:37 and Tatyana McFadden of the U.S. won the women’s wheelchair race with a time of 1:42:37.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.